Pro Patria Stamps of Switzerland -An Introduction

Pro Patria Stamps of Switzerland 1936 -2019 -An Introduction

Pro Patria (Switzerland) is a Swiss patriotic and charitable organisation founded in 1909 by a group of spirited citizens led by a merchant named Albert Schuster. Its purpose is to collect donations for the benefit of social and cultural works of national public interest. Pro Patria principally collects donations through the sale of postage stamps, postcards & badges, in co-operation with Swiss Post. Post offices sold Federal celebration postcards from 1910 to 1960 and postage stamps since 1936.

Each year a set of Postage stamps with a theme is issued by Swiss Post and the surcharge represents the donation to Pro Patria.

Since 1923 Pro Patria have also produced an Annual Federation Celebration Badge which is sold in Post Offices and by Volunteers.

Pro Patria Philately – It is a popular field of Philately throughout the World. Though the collection of stamps since 1936, used and mint condition may not be very difficult, both rarity wise and financially, but the interests lie in varieties of used products associated with stamps like FDCs, FDCs sent from Switzerland, Used Postcards and such like products.


Rupees 100 Notes with Signature of New RBI Governor Shri Shaktikanta Das

Rupees 100 Notes with Signature of New RBI Governor Shri Shaktikanta Das

Reserve Bank of India has issued a Press release on 26 Feb 2019  intimating that it will shortly issue Rupees 100 Notes with Signature of New RBI Governor Shri Shaktikanta Das. The design will be similar to Mahatma Gandhi (New) series notes.

International Women’s Day – 8 Mar

International Women’s Day – 8 Mar

International Women’s Day is celebrated on 8 March every year. On 28 February 1909 Socialist party of America organised Women’s Day. In 1910 International Socialist Women’s Conference suggested that Women’s Day is held annually. In Soviet Russia, women gained suffrage rights on 08 March 1917 and the day became a national holiday and it was adopted by the United Nations in 1975.

Though Women enjoy equality in many ways however issues like Pay Parity at Workplace, Films, Sports still remain elusive, Domestic Violence, Marital Rape, Sexual Harassment at Work Place (#Me Too movement) are issues which need our attention. In third World Countries Girl Child education, equality, Sexual exploitation, Killing of unborn Girl Child, Denial of Right to abortion (even in some developed countries) is still prevalent

Philately has celebrated Women’s Day and Women’s rights in many ways. Few examples are listed.

Gordon Banks -All-Time Great Goalkeeper dies -RIP

Gordon Banks -All-Time Great Goalkeeper dies -RIP

England’s 1966 World Cup Winning Goalkeeper Gordan Banks passed away at the age of 91. He was regarded for being one of the best Goalkeepers that the Game has seen. He is perhaps most remembered for his “Save of Century” at the 1970 World Cup match against Brazil. He saved a Pele header. We pay our homage to this great Footballer and Goalkeeper.

gordon banks


Coins on M G Ramachandran -2019

Coins on M G Ramachandran -2019

Two Coins of Rs 100 and Rs 5 were released by Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Palaniswami on 17 Jan 2019 at MGR Medical University Complex. The coins marked the Birth Centenary of Matinee idol turned Politician.

mgr coins

Stamps on Mahatma Gandhi

Stamps on Mahatma Gandhi

India celebrates 150th Birth Anniversary of  Mahatma Gandhi – The Father of Nation and apostle of Peace and Non – Violence. His ideas are cherished and followed the World over. A large number of Countries have issued Stamps and Postal Stationery on Mahatma Gandhi since his death in 1948.

We shall try and list some of these Stamps and Postal Stationery to pay our tribute on his 150th Birth Anniversary.

Four Evenings of Wonder-International Pyromelodic Fireworks Competition.

Four Evenings of Wonder-International Pyromelodic Fireworks Competition.

The Four Evenings of Wonder-International Pyromelodic Fireworks Competition is held every year in Monaco in July (Two evenings ) and Aug (Two Evenings). It was established by Monaco Townhall in 1966 and involves pyrotechnics shows of quality. A very powerful sound system has been installed on the whole of Port Hercule, allowing spectators to fully enjoy these unique spectacles from Quai Albert Ler. Countries compete with each other over the Monegasque sky in technical salvoes with visual and musical effects. This Monte Carlo show is one of the best in the World.

A Special Cancellation on this show is listed.

monaco pyro technics