Australian Open Tennis Champions on Stamps – Australian Open 2019 – Six days to go.

Australian Open 2019 – The Australian Open was first played at Warehouseman’s Cricket Ground in 1905. This facility is now known as the Albert Reserve Tennis Centre. The Australian Open 2019 will be played at Melbourne Park from 14 to 29 January 2019. This will be the 107th edition since 1905 and 51st in the Open era.

Anthony Frederick Wilding (31 October 1883 – 9 May 1915) was New Zealand’s World No 1 Tennis Player.  Wilding had won 11 Grand Slam Titles (Six in Singles and Five in Doubles) and is the only player from New Zealand to have won a Grand slam Singles Title. He won Davis Cup four times playing for Australasia and a Bronze Medal at the Indoor singles tennis event in 1912 Stockholm Olympics.

He Won the 1906 and 1909 Australasian Open Titles and was also the runner’s up in 1908 & 1909 Australasian Men’s Doubles Championships. He was four-time Wimbledon Champion (1910-1913)

He was Killed in World War I in 1915 in France. He joined the Royal Marines and served as a Captain with the Royal Naval Armoured Car Division in the Battlefields of France in WWI. On 09 May 1915, during thebattle of Aubers Ridge at Neuve-Chapelle, France,he was killed in action

New Zealand issued a 45 cent stamp in honour of  Anthony Wilding on 12 Aug 1992.

anthony wilding