Classic Composers on Stamps of Ireland 2009.

Classic Composers on Stamps of Ireland 2009

Ireland issued a set of Four stamps on Classic Composers on 14 Aug 2009. The Four Composers featured on stamps are

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)- Prolific and influential Austrian Composer of the Classical era.Competent on Keyboard and Violin.Composed more than 600 works many acknowledged as pinnacles of symphonic, Concertante,Chamber,Operatic and choral Music.

Georg Friedrich Handel(1695-1759) was a German later British Baroque composer. Well known for his Operas,oratorios,anthems and organ concertos. One of his four coronation anthems Zadok The Priest (1727) composed for the coronation of George II has been performed at every susequent British Coronation.

Frederic Chopin (1810-1849) was a Polish composer and virtuoso Pianist of romantic  era who wrote primarily for solo piano.

Joseph Haydn (1732-1809) was an Austrian Composer of classical period. He was instrumental in development of chamber music such as Piano trio which earned him the epithets “Father of Symphony” and “Father of String Quartet”.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s