National Parks of Australia – Stamps of Australia-1979

National Parks of Australia – Stamps of Australia-1979

Australia issued a set of seven stamps on National Parks of Australia on 09 Apr 1979.Five horizontal were issued in strips of Five and vertical stamps were issued in Se-tenant pair. The Seven parks featured are

Port Campbell National Park Victoria-established  on 05 May 1964. It has flora such as sun orchid,spider orchid,bower spinach etc.Southern emu ,honeyeaters,egrets,Pelicans and black swans are also found here.Brown bandicoots , echidna are fauna species found here.

Uluru-Kata-Tjuta National Park – Northern Territory

Royal National Park – New South Wales

Flinders Ranges National Park South Australia

Nambung National Park Western Australia

Girraween National Park Queensland -is an area of granite belt in the Darling Downs region of Queensland.It was established on 21 Oct 1966.Girraween is an aboriginal word meaning place of flowers. The Golden wattle blooms in July in the Park. Among the fauna species found here are common wombat,spotted quoll,lyrebird,turquoise Parrot and Bald rock creek turtle

Mount Field National Park Tasmania





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s