The Title Contenders on Stamps – Australian Open 2019

The Title Contenders on Stamps – Australian Open 2019

Australian Open 2019 – The Australian Open was first played at Warehouseman’s Cricket Ground in 1905. This facility is now known as the Albert Reserve Tennis Centre. The Australian Open 2019 will be played at Melbourne Park from 14 to 29 January 2019. This will be the 107th edition since 1905 and 51st in the Open era.

Men’s Singles – The Fab Four ( Federer, Nadal, Murray & Novak) of Men’s Tennis will take a Final Shot at the Title in Australian Open which begins today. They have won 50 of the last 55 Grand Slam Titles.

Roger Federer (born 8 August 1981) is a Swiss Tennis Player who has won a joint-record six Australian Open Men’s singles titles and a total of 20 Grand Slam singles titles. He is the current Australian Open Champion having won the title in 2018. Switzerland issued a stamp to honour Roger Federer on 10 Oct 2007. He is seen holding the Wimbledon Trophy in the stamp.

roger federer switzerland

Serena Williams (born 26 September 1981) is an American tennis player who has won a record 39 Grand Slam titles ( 23 Singles, 14 Women’s Doubles and 2 Mixed Doubles). She has won Seven Australian Open Singles Titles which is an open era record.


Novak Djokovic ( born 22 May 1987) is a Serbian Tennis player who is currently ranked No 1 in the World. He has won 14 Grand Slam singles titles including six joint-record Australian Open Titles. Serbia issued a stamp in his honour on 04 April 2008.  In 2008 Djokovic won the Australian Open and Olympic Gold.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s