Roland  Garros French Open Tennis 2019 – Stamps on Women’s Singles winners 1920- 1999.

There are four Grand Slam tennis tournaments held in a calendar year. The French Open or Roland Garros is the second of the four Grand Slam tournaments. The 2019 edition will be played from 26 May to 9 June 2019 (qualifying rounds have already started from 20th May 2019).

The Grand Slam schedule consists of the Australian Open in mid-January, the French Open in May-June, Wimbledon in June-July and the US Open in August-September.

Wimbledon is the oldest of the slams and was founded in 1877, followed by the US Open in 1881, the French Open in 1891 and the Australian Open in 1905 but only Wimbledon was a major prior to 1924-25.

Wimbledon is played on Grass, French Open on Clay, and the US Open and the Australian Open are played on Hard Courts. The term Grand Slam refers to winning all four of these major tournaments in the same calendar year.

The French Clay Court Championships played in 1891 can be termed as the First French Open tournament. It was only open to the members of the French Club and was played at Stade Francais. The venue of the French Open was shifted to Stade Roland Garros in 1928. This stadium was built and named in honour of Roland Garros, a French fighter pilot who was killed during the Great War.

Ivory Coast issued a sheetlet consisting of nine stamps on Womens’ Singles Champions on 24 May 1991 to mark the centenary of French Open Championships.

1991 ronald garros

Suzanne Lenglen – Won Six times  ( including four times as French Club member)

Helen Wills Moody- Four times (between 1928 and 1932)

Simone Mathieu – Twice (1938-39)

Maureen Conolly(USA) – Won it twice 1953-54

Francoise Durr (France) – Once in 1967

Margaret Court – Australia – Won it Five times between 1962 and 1973.

Chris Evert- Won Seven Times between 1974 & 1986.

Martina Navratilova – Won French Open Singles twice and Women’s Doubles seven times.

Steffi Graf (born 14 June 1969) is a former German tennis player who has won 22 Grand Slam singles titles including six French Open singles titles (1987-1999). In 1988 she became the only tennis player to achieve the Golden Grand Slam – winning all Grand Slam titles and the Olympic Gold Medal. She was inducted into International Tennis Hall of Fame in 2004.