Stamps on Indian Military Institutions – RIMC Dehra Dun -1997 & 2022

The Rashtriya Indian Military College (RIMC) Dehra Dun is a Military School for Boys & Girls located in Dehradun. It is a feeder institution for National Defence Academy, Indian Naval Academy and Indian Armed Forces.

The Rashtriya Indian Military College (RIMC), is an Inter Service Category ‘A’ establishment, administered through the Army Training Command (ARTRAC) under the aegis of the Ministry of Defence (MoD). Christened the Prince of Wales Royal Indian Military College, it was inaugurated on 13 March 1922 by His Royal Highness, Prince Edward VIII, the Prince of Wales. It was then located on the premises of the erstwhile Imperial Cadet Corps (also called Rajwada Camp), set amidst 138 acres of lush green countryside, adjacent to Garhi Village in Dehradun Cantonment.

The institution has given India 6 Service Chiefs — General KS Thimayya, Gen GG Bewoor, Gen VN Sharma, Air Chief Marshal NC Suri, Gen S Padmanabhan, Air Chief Marshal BS Dhanoa, 41 Army Commanders and equivalent, and 163 in the rank of Lt. General.

Pakistan’s General Gul Hassankhan, the last Commander-in-Chief of the Pakistan Army and two Pak Air chiefs, Air Marshal Asghar Khan and Air Marshal Nur Khan, have passed out from the intuition.

RIMC opens its doors to girls in the Centenary year – Five Girls will join RIMC in the July 2022 Batch , becoming the First Girl Cadets Batch.

A Five Rupee Stamp was issued on 13 Mar 2022 to commemorate the Centenary of RIMC.

A Two Rupee Stamp was issued on 13 Mar 1997 to commemorate 75 Years of RIMC. A First Day Cover cancelled at 1 CBPO is listed.

RIMC 1922