Stamps on Motor Sports in Isle of Man -1988

A set of Four stamps on Motor sports in Isle of Man was issued on 10 Feb 1988. The first motor sport trials were held in 1904 in Isle of Man.1988 marks the 25th anniversary of Manx International Rally.

The details are

13p – Vauxhall Opel & Russel Brookes – The first Manx Rally was held in 1963. Russel Brookes of Britain won Manx rally in 1979 & 1985.

26p – Ford Escort & Ari Vatanen – Manx Rally gained international status and in 1976 ace Finnish Driver Ari Vatanen won the Manx rally and he later went on to become World Champion.

31p – Repco March 761 & Terry Smith – The hill Climb race on TT course is an annual event since 1973. Terry Smith from Avon set a record of 61.35 seconds in 1980 features on the stamp.

34p –Williams Honda & Nigel Mansell – Nigel Mansell British Formula I driver made Isle of  Man his second home. He won the 1985 and 1987 British Formula I Grand Prix with the Williams Honda team and nine Grand Prix wins and Constructors Championships for Williams Honda in 1986 was highlight of  Mansell’s career.