Stamps on “The Samaja” Oriya Newspaper -India 2019.

“The Samaja” is an Oriya Language newspaper founded in 1919 by a Nationalist and a Freedom Fighter Utkalamani Pandit Gopabandhu Das. It has now a readership of almost 16 Lakhs (1.6 Million) and daily Circulation of 350,000. It is published from eight cities across three states in India (Odisha, Andhra Pradesh & West Bengal).

Some of the prominent personalities who have contributed to its growth and have been associated with it are Lal Bahadur Shastri, Lala Lajpat Rai, Sri Krishna Kant, Balwant Rai Mehta, Purshottam Das Tandon. The “Samaja” is owned and managed by “Servants of People Society” founded by Lala Lajpat Rai.

India Post issued a commemorative stamp of Rs 5 to celebrate Centenary year of  “The Samaja”. The stamp has Braille writing. It was issued on 06 Oct 2019.