Commonwealth Games – A Philatelic Journey.

The Commonwealth Games is a multi discipline sporting event involving athletes from Commonwealth of Nations. The event was first held in 1930 and has taken place every four years since then except 1942 & 1946 when they were cancelled due to World War II.

The last games were held in Glasgow ,Scotland in 2014 and next are scheduled to be held in Gold Coast , Australia in 2018. The Games were known as

British Empire Games from 1930-1950,

British Empire & Commonwealth Games from 1954-1966,

British Commonwealth Games from 1970-1974

Commonwealth Games from 1978 onwards.

Nine nations have hosted the Commonwealth Games.18 Cities in Seven Countries have hosted the event. Australia has hosted four Games (1938,1962,1982,2006) and shall host fifth one in 2018,Canada has hosted Four Games ( 1930,1954,1978 & 1994). Two cities have hosted it twice Auckland (1950 & 1990) and Edinburgh (1970 & 1986).

Only six countries have attended all the Games – Australia,Canada,England,New Zealand,Scotland & Wales. Australia has topped the Medals tally in Twelve Games, England in Seven Games and Canada Once.

India hosted the Games at New Delhi in 2010.

CGF – The Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF) is the International Organisation directly responsible for direction and control of Commonwealth Games.

Sri Lanka issued a set of Two stamps on the CGF General Assembly held in Colombo in 2007 where Glasgow was awarded the 2014 Commonwealth Games. The FDC is listed below.